Cricket Teams with Most World Cup Title Wins
Cricket Blog

Cricket Teams with Most World Cup Title Wins

Cricket is the second most popular sport in the world with about 2.5 billion followers, standing behind only football that leads the list with about 4 billion fans. Having such a huge fan base, it is natural for the ICC Cricket World Cup to be one of the world’s most viewed sporting events. For those who do not know, the ICC Cricket World Cup is the international sports tournament of One Day International (ODI) cricket. The championship event, considered as the flagship competition of the international cricket circuit, is organized every four years by the governing body of the sport and that is the International Cricket Council (ICC).


All members of the International Cricket Council are open to participate in the World Cup. The teams that rank higher on the ICC list are qualified automatically whereas the remaining teams are chosen by the World Cricket League and the ICC World Cup Qualifier. There have been twelve editions of the Cricket World Cup to date where a total of twenty teams have participated at least once. Seven of these teams have participated in all the editions, and six of them have won the title. In the 2007 Cricket World Cup, the ICC let 16 teams participate in the tournament, which is the largest number of participants ever for the Cricket World Cup.

Having so many participants in a tournament is bound to make it extremely challenging. In such a situation, it is not an easy task for a team to pass the qualifying rounds, the semi-final and then the final round; however, you will be surprised to find out that there are teams who have won the title more than once, and some of these winners have won the title in a row. Without letting ourselves spoil the article for you further, let us show you the cricket teams that have the most Cricket World Cup title wins.

3. India

The Indian cricket team has won the World Champions title two times, first in 1983 and then in 2011. As its victory over Sri Lanka in the 2011 World Cup final was on home ground, it is considered as a remarkable achievement. Not many cricket teams have been able to do this. It would be a massive mistake to call the Indian cricket team’s two-time World Cup victory a mere coincidence as the team has performed wonderfully in a number of the ICC World Cup editions.

Apart from winning the title twice, the Indian cricket team was a runner-up in the 2003 Cricket World Cup, getting defeated by the Australian team by a large margin of 125 runs. In addition to that, the Indian cricket team has finished the tournament as semi-finalists four times, in 1987, 1996, 2015 and 2019. However, in the 1999 Cricket World Cup, the team came last in the Super Six stage and got knocked out in the group stage of the 1975, 1979, 1992 and 2007 World Cup tournaments.

Indian Cricket Team celebrating after winning the trophy
Picture: Indian Cricket Team celebrating after winning the trophy (Picture Credit: Pinterest)

2. West Indies

The West Indies cricket team, more frequently called as the Windies, has won the Cricket World Champions title more than once. Similar to the Indian cricket team, the Windies have won the title twice, in 1975 and 1979. However, the similarities end there. What the Indian cricket team could not achieve that the Windies did is winning the first two Cricket World Cups consecutively. The first Cricket World Cup was held in England in 1975 where the eight participants consisted of the first six Test nations: Pakistan, Australia, England, New Zealand, India and West Indies. The other two teams were Sri Lanka and East Africa.

West Indies Cricket Team posing after winning the trophy
Picture: West Indies Cricket Team posing after winning the trophy (Picture credit: Pinterest)

Having 60 overs in each innings, the ODI format was also a bit different.After winning the first two Cricket World Cup editions in a row, the Windies were regarded as experts in the sport. That being said, their performance has seen a downward trend ever since, so much so that they had to pass the qualifying round in order to make it to the ICC World Cup 2019. To compensate for that, the West Indies cricket team has been performing outstandingly in T20 Cricket format with two ICC Men’s T20 World Cup titles in their hands, which is the most by any cricket team.

1. Australia

The team that tops this list is none other than Australia. The Australian cricket team is, undoubtedly, the best team of the ICC Cricket World Cup as they have won 5 World Cup editions. Remember that there have been a total of 12 Cricket World Cup editions. The Australian team first won the Cricket World Cup trophy in 1987. After that, it built a winning streak of 12 years by winning the 1999, 2003 and 2007 World Cup titles. This is a nearly impossible task that no other cricket team has been able to do so far.

Australian Cricket Team after winning the world cup
Picture: Australian Cricket Team after winning the world cup (Picture Credit: Pinterest)

Unfortunately, the Australian cricket team lost in the 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup quarter-final stage and got its streak broken. However, the Aussies regained the title in the 2015 Cricket World Cup. Apart from its glorious World Cup title wins, the Australian cricket team has finished as the runner up in the tournament twice. In 1975, the team lost the final match to West Indies, and it lost the final to Sri Lanka in 1996. Additionally, the Australians have also reached the quarter-finals in the 2011 Cricket World Cup. Also, the Aussies have been knocked out in the first round in three World Cup editions (1979, 1983 and 1992).

Not only is Australia a five-time cricket World Champion but also it is the only team to be considered as favorite for the tournament in every single World Cup edition to date. In the ICC Cricket World Cup, the Australian cricket team has played the highest number of matches, i.e. 94. Out of these 94 matches, the Aussies have won 69 matches and have lost only 23. These remarkable figures give the Australian team the highest win percentage among all the 20 teams that have ever played in the ICC Cricket World Cup.

All Teams with their title wins
TeamTitle wins
West Indies2
Sri Lanka1

Leave a comment